I want to live in the 19th century and be a duchess (a viscountess will also do)

You are mentally obese if the only time you leave your apartment is to buy one jalapeño for guacamole for dinner.

Enchiladas

I made dinner tonight! Go me 🙂 Ok, well….my mom made the enchiladas at home and I brought them back. But I did put the sauce and cheese on them! I also cooked the box of Goya Yellow Rice and boiled some corn (I was in the mood to be healthy). And finally, the pièce de résistance, I made a guacamole and pico de gallo hybrid. Pioneer Woman also seems to agree that this is a great combination. 

And after such a great meal, I continued with my obsessive reading. I mentioned in my last post that I am currently work on the “100” Romance Novels to Read Before You Die Goodreads list. Thank you, thank you to the creators of this list. I was first introduced to romance novels by one of my closest friends, X, back in high school. They were mainly historical novels, which explains my current penchant for that genre. One of my absolute favorites was The Bride and The Beast by Teresa Medieros. I admit, I was a bit of a prude (maybe still am….) so I didn’t like  my novels on the erotic end, but who doesn’t enjoy a bit of bodice-ripping and tight breeches.

Before you judge, I’ll have you know I did my undergrad degree in Comparative Literature and International Relations, and my masters was in English Literature. I’ve read tomes of serious writings: hermeneutics, Plato and Aristotle, Marxist theory, war theory, Kierkegaard, and a lot of other complicated and super-impressive sounding things. After my masters, I took a long sabbatical from reading anything remotely serious, but when you’re commuting to work, you can’t exactly read a book with this type of cover:

Jennifer Ashley - The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie

I was embarrassed and afraid to be judged as silly and frou frou. Enter the Kindle from two Christmases ago. (Thank you, boyfriend!) The Kindle transformed my life, and especially my commute. I do read “respectable” intellectual material still, but this type of content is not suited for consumption early in the morning as you schlep to work or late in the evening as you make your way home after a long, dull day at work. Now, my reading life is great. I read trashy and I read serious (nothing erotic though although Tats joon is convincing me to tackle the 50 Shades trilogy).

And for those who say that you can’t learn anything from historical romance novels, I beg to differ. I can definitely say that Eloisa James, Julia Quinn, Jennifer Ashley, Elizabeth Hoyt, Lisa Kleypas and others have enriched my vocabulary, albeit I don’t really have a use for these new words in my modern, NYC life. Maybe you can find a use for them?

  • demimondaine: a woman on the fringes of respectable society supported by a wealthy lover (usually has several)
  • ramble: a leisurely excursion for pleasure particularly if you live in the country
  • ton (also known as le bon tonpolite society, and beau monde): the beautiful two thousand, referring to Britain’s high society, especially during the Regency period (1811 to 1820)
  • laudanum: an alcoholic tincture of opium

For  more reading, visit Geerte’s fantastic blog, 19th century, as well as Kate Tattersall‘s useful glossary.

One response to “I want to live in the 19th century and be a duchess (a viscountess will also do)

Leave a Reply

